Broadband installation under way in 210 schools

High speed broadband is currently being rolled out to 210 secondary schools in counties Dublin, Kildare and Meath as part of a national programme to provide 100Mb/sec broadband to schools around the country.

This is phase 2 of the programme, which has already seen broadband services installs in schools in Cavan, Clare, Donegal, Galway, Laois, Leitrim, Longford, Louth, Mayo, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon, Sligo and Westmeath.

The high speed broadband programme provides broadband in secondary schools and special schools which cater for second-level students. The current phase of the programme begins this month and is expected to be completed by February 2014.

Phase 3 of the programme, details of which will be announced in 2014, will see broadband installation in schools in counties Carlow, Cork, Kerry, Kilkenny, Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford, Wexford and Wicklow.

The latest phase of the programme, which is jointly funded by the Department of Education and Skills and the Department of Communications, Energy and Natural Resources, was announced today by PDST Technology in Education